Sunrise in Sydney

This is the blog of a 25-year-old bookmark. I proudly boast my own Hallmark serial number, 95 HBM 80-1. You’ll probably want to read all about me and my Travelling Companion (the TC) .

Today’s travel notes

Me and the TC have been back home for a couple of weeks now, after our trip to San Francisco and Seattle. Jet lag is a thing of the past. The trip is already receding into the mists of memory.

Did we ever go at all? Sometimes this worm thinks a good book is more real than life itself.

Speaking of real life, there just has to be a better form of long-distance travel than the aircraft. The TC is not a good traveller. After about six hours on a plane, she becomes miserable, mussy and messy. Very messy.

Me, I’d suggest teleportation. Just drop into a fax machine and materialise on the other side of the world. Make sure it’s a high-definition, high-colour fax machine, or you may lose some vital bits.

Travel tip

Don’t double-knot your shoe laces until you’ve been through airport security.

Recommended restaurant

Home sweet home.

The book I’m in

The Villa, by Nora Roberts.

A good old-fashioned intrigue set in San Francisco and Italy, seasoned with romance and noble wines.

The photos

Me back in the bosom of my family:

Sunrise in Sydney

Sunrise in Sydney

Hand was a bit emotional on my return. I was touched. Peg took centre stage as usual. In an uncharacteristic bout of soppiness, Drool allowed The Rival and Naught to drape themselves all over him. Naught is stuck in his waterproof suit. I don’t think we’ll ever get it off him. I did tell him of the perils of lamination, but he just would not listen. At least I escaped his fate. That’s the beauty of having a stunt worm.

Sydney is heading into winter. The sunrises are begrudgingly gorgeous at this time of year:

Sunrise in Sydney

Sunrise in Sydney

With the longer nights and the swap to daylight saving time, there’s a chance you’ll be awake to enjoy a sunrise over the sea:

Sunrise in Sydney

Sunrise in Sydney

That’s all for today dudes.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://travellingworm.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/sunrise-in-sydney/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’ve made this suggestion for years (since I first travelled to the US in that thin metallic cigar-shaped object suspended some 10 miles above ground): Wouldn’t it be great if the world’s top physicists and other related scientists got together and spent one year on just one project — teleportation of humans! No more jet lag, no more waiting interminable hours in terminals (did you like that rhyme?), no more flying in a hermetically sealed sarcophagus for 15 hours or more… Yes, I know there are more pressing world problems, but solving this one would make me very happy! Security could be an issue though… (which reminds me, tell TC that Crocs are GREAT for airport security and travelling. Ugly, but very practical.)

    And what’s with the sun rising over the ocean??? Egad! Where I live the sun sets over the ocean. If it rose over it, we’d be doomed as we’d be spinning the wrong way.


Leave a Reply

