The red centre

This is the blog of a 25-year-old bookmark, Hallmark serial number 95 HBM 80-1. And this is my very first blog post. Hallo world. I spend most of my time inside a book (well, duh) while my Travelling Companion sees the world. Read all about me and follow my blog posts to share my experiences as bookmark and travelling worm. I promise to get quite philosophical at times, but not unnecessarily so.

Today’s travel notes

I’ve just spent three days in the Red Centre of Australia: Alice Springs, Uluru (Ayers Rock), and Kata Tjuta (the Olgas). I’m tempted to say “awesome”, but that’s an overloaded word. This is a bit sad, actually — my first blog post ever, and I pick a location that leaves me speechless. As you get to know me better, you’ll realise that I’m usually quite garrulous. This time, confronted with Australia’s Red Centre, I’ll just titillate your interest with this one word:

Omphalos

The book I’m in

Eye of the Needle, by Ken Follett.

The photos

Me and Kata Tjuta (the Olgas):

Me and the Olgas

Me and Uluru (Ayers Rock):

Me and Uluru

Me on Uluru:

Me on Uluru

Kata Tjuta (one of the Olgas):

Kata Tjuta (the Olgas)

Uluru (Ayers Rock):

It really is just one single huge lump of rock. Quite different to the Olgas, which tend to come apart at the seams when you get up close and personal. Here are some aspects of the rock — all photos taken within the space of two hours:

Uluru 1

Uluru 2

Uluru 3

Uluru 4

Uluru 5

Uluru 6

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://travellingworm.wordpress.com/2008/04/25/the-red-centre/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

